Srđan Bulat
Soloist Recital

Srđan Bulat

A number of international awards and recognitions which have so far crowned career of guitar virtuoso from Split Srđan Bulat confirm that he is one of the most important Croatian artists of the recent years. It is particularly important the fact that he has set it as his mission to systematically represent Croatian authors at his many international performances, this way introducing Croatian classical music to audiences around the world.

Srđan Bulat

It is in this spirit that the Program to be performed at the Split Summer Festival has been designed, completely dedicated to national composers - Miroslav Miletić, Boris Papandopulo, Željko Brkanović, Mark Ruždjak, Stjepan Šulek, Mirko Krstičević, Olja Jelaska and Frano Parać.

Srđan Bulat graduated at the Split Music School “Josip Hatze” and later at the Academy of Arts, University of Split in the class of Professor Goran Listeš (in 2007 he won Rector’s Award). In 2010 he graduated guitar at the Academy of Music, University of Zagreb in the class of Professor Darko Petrinjak. He won the Dean’s Award, Rector’s Award of the University of Zagreb for the academic year 2009/2010 as well as Summa cum laude awards as Valedictorian.

In July 2014 Srđan graduated, with distinction, from one of the most prestigious music academies in the world -  Royal Academy of Music in London, where he studied as the recipient of the prestigious ABRSM scholarship - awarded to the best candidate in the auditions for postgraduate study programs. In September 2015 he graduated from the Postgraduate Specialist Study at the Academy of Music, University of Zagreb.

He has won top prizes in almost all of the most prestigious international competitions for classical guitarists: ’Francisco Tarrega' competition in Benicassim, ‘Michele Pittaluga’ in Alessandria, ‘Fernando Sor’ in Rome, “Julian Arcas’ in Almería, ‘Alhambra’ in Valencia, ‘Gredos San Diego’ in Madrid, ‘Maurizio Biasini’ in Bologna and almost all national awards for young artists. He played as a soloist with Zagreb Philharmonic Orchestra, Croatian Radio Television Symphony Orchestra, Split Chamber Orchestra, Dubrovnik Symphony Orchestra, “Cantus” Ensemble, “Vivaldi” Orchestra from Alessandria and Opera Orchestra from Valencia and gave numerous recitals all around the world (Madrid, Rome, Dublin, Copenhagen, Oslo, Cairo, New York, Chicago, Toronto, Helsinki).


Recital programmme


Miroslav Miletić (1925): Suite from Međimurje

Boris Papandopulo (1906-1991): Dodecaphonic Study

Željko Brkanović (1937): Mediteranean Suite 

Marko Ruždjak (1946-2012): Double


Stjepan Šulek (1914-1986): Three troubadour's

Mirko Krstičević (1948): About the Time He Walked Around

Olja Jelaska (1967): Fantasia (Hommage á Britten)

Frano Parać (1948): Music for Guitar


Ticket price: 60 and 80 kn