Split string quartet

Split string quartet

Concert evening at Kaštilac is dedicated to Split String Quartet performing the works of Bombardelli, Papandopulo and Tchaikovsky 

Split string quartet

Split String Quartet was founded at the beginnings of 2005. Ensemble is composed of experienced and distinguished musicians of Split music circle Valter Lovričević (violin),  Ana Tošić  D'Ambra (violin), Igor Smoday (viola) and Mihovil Karuza (violoncello) who are all graduates of Split Music School. After their university studies and international careers they joined their forces in Split String Quartet playing at the same time for the most important cultural institutions of the City (Croatian National Theatre Split and Arts Academy, University of Split).

During a decade of playing together Split String Quartet performed in a series of concerts. From the very beginning: Drniš Passion Heritage Festival, 51st Split Summer Festival, 59th Split Summer Festival, Days of the Christian Culture, 8th Gospić Music Summer, Days of the Alka and the Assumption, St. Duje Novena in the Split Cathedral where they premiered the first string quartet “Martyr” by don Šime Marović especially composed for the Split String Quartet, Music Evenings at St. Frances Church, Summer Colors of Split. They cooperated with Croatia - France Association playing at French Culture Festival in Split, with Split City Puppet Theatre, Split Contemporary Music Society, Split Dance Center…
Under the auspices of the Ministry of Culture of the Republic of Croatia they organize summer concerts guest performances for promotion of cultural tourism in smaller Croatian towns and islands. Since 2007, under the auspices of the Municipality of the City of Split and in cooperation with the Croatian National Theater Split and Croatian Bar Association - Split, they have presented a regular concert season in the City of Split. 


S.Bombardelli: String Quartet No. 2
Lento lugubre / Adagio melancolico / Allegro risoluto

B.Papandopulo: String Quartet No. 3 “Folk”
Idyll / In a Circle Dance / Minstrel’s / A Play

P.I.Tchaikovsky: String Quartet No. 2 in F major, Op.22
Adagio.Moderato assai / Scherzo.Allegro giusto / Andante ma non tanto / Finale.Allegro con moto


Ticket prices: 60 and 80 kn


Violin Valter Lovričević
Violin Ana Tošić  D'Ambra
Viola Igor Smoday
Cello Mihovil Karuza